If at first you don’t succeed….

…swear a lot, stamp your feet, have a cup of tea and then go back to it…

Hello all.  This week I have been working on a rather complicated order for a 40th birthday.  The customer simply ordered “whatever I thought” so of course I suggested an extra large swivel card (4 pieces of a4 card and a LOT of cutting/measuring) and then added to the complexity further by cutting ovals out of card through which individually stamped words (chosen by the customer to describe the recipient) would be seen.  Cue more careful measuring and cutting, along with a bit of precision stamping and gluing.  Sigh…

After several hours hard work (but happily not as much wasted card stock as I had feared) the difficult bits were done and all that was left was some final assembly and the all important “wonderful husband” sentiment.  Easy Peasy, right?  Well, so I thought.  Until…

img_1337

 

First attempt went a bit wrong…  no matter, let’s try again…

img_1335

 

 

Hmm, better but not great….third time lucky?

img_1339

Seriously no idea what that was about….!  Time for a break methinks.

I went off and had a cuppa tea at this point (after shouting “oh, ffs” several times far too loudly, shocking the decorator and scaring the cat)

IMG_1255

aah, that’s better….  so now let’s rethink this.  Clearly stamping straight onto an oval with limited space aint gonna work… How about we go for a “deliberately higgledy piggledy” type look……

img_1336

Argh, so close..  does the dodgy D notice..?  I decided it did, and braced myself for one final attempt…

which I will show you, along with the rest of the card, in next week’s blog!!  Haha, I am such a tease…!!

 

 

