Feeling Fabulous

Hello my lovelies, and how are we all this Sunday?  As you read this I am feeling very smug as I am having a lovely weekend away in Somerset on a girlie weekend.  It’s mainly involved eating, drinking, dancing and chillaxing (wait did I use a modern trendspeak word for chilling out and relaxing? Too right I did!) but I did also find time to write this little blog.

The reason we are in Somerset is to celebrate a friend’s 50th birthday, and so of course  I had to make her a lovely fabulous card to celebrate being fabulous at 50.

Here it is…  img_1319

I had seen a card that had a double opening with a centre piece recently and so decided to use this basic structure as something a bit different from the normal.  I used Stampin Up! Rich Razzleberry, Smoky Slate and Very Vanilla card stocks, first scoring a piece of A4 at 9.5cm and 7cm to make each end flap.  I then measured in 0.5cm to cut the pieces for for each layer.

The main front panel, front centre piece and inner panels all used my fireworks background stamp and some Sweet Sugarplum and Silver inks.  I used the Let’s Party and Champagne Glass stamps from Clarity for the detail on the inside panels.
img_1320img_1321

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next I stamped a Stamping Bella image onto the outside smaller panel and hand coloured her using Spectrum Noir pencils.  A glamorous blonde with a glass of fizz in her hand – very apt for the birthday girl in question…

img_1322

 

I die cut the letters and numbers, gluing everything in place with use of trusty tweezers and cocktail stick!  The letters were placed at a jaunty angle partly to give a more fun look to the card and partly to fit everything in (sshhh don’t tell)!

I assembled all the various component parts, glued in all in place onto the base  and then added a die cut circle and a punched scallop circle for the centre, making sure to only glue this down on one side of the card so that it would open.  I used “dimensionals” foampads to raise the 50 up a bit so that it (literally) stands out.

img_1318

Finally,  I used another piece of Very Vanilla for the inside piece (I usually use a creamy paper but as there was a lot of card already on the inside panels I wanted to make sure it all matched properly) and added a “Happy Birthday” with my all time fave sentiments set.

Job done.  Back to the cider and chocolate then.  It’s a hard life!

Have a fabulous week all!  See you next week.

